Tapir Specialist Group Logo IUCN SSC

Tapir Projects Around the World

More and more research is being conducted on tapirs, including many projects by Tapir Specialist Group field researchers.

LOWLAND TAPIR

ARGENTINA

The Influence of Large Herbivores on Neotropical Forests: El Rey National Park, Salta, Argentina
Silvia C. Chalukian
E-mail: tapirnoa@yahoo.com.ar; schalukian@yahoo.com.ar

Implementation of the Action Plan for the Conservation of Tapir (Tapirus terrestris) in Argentina: Assessing the Conservation Status and Population Monitoring in the Northwest
Soledad de Bustos & Silvia C. Chalukian
E-mail: tapirnoa@yahoo.com.ar; soledaddebustos@yahoo.com.ar
www.proyectotapir.com.ar

BRAZIL

Lowland Tapir Conservation Initiative: Pantanal Tapir Program, Brazil
Patrícia Medici
E-mail: epmedici@uol.com.br
www.tapirconservation.org.br; www.ipe.org.br
Lowland Tapir Conservation Initiative on Facebook

Influence of Large Herbivores on the Atlantic Forest of Morro do Diabo State Park, São Paulo State, Brazil
Patrícia Medici
E-mail: epmedici@uol.com.br
www.tapirconservation.org.br; www.ipe.org.br

Conservation of Tapirus terrestris Populations in the State of
Espírito Santo, Brazil
Andressa Gatti, Danielle de Oliveira Moreira, Luana Centoducatte & João Luiz Rossi Junior
E-mail: gatti.andressa@gmail.com

Home Range, Habitat Use, Movement Patterns and Diet of Tapirs (Tapirus terrestris) in the Brazilian Cerrado
Edsel Amorim Moraes Junior
E-mail: edsel@biotropicos.org.br; edsel.bhz@terra.com.br

The Biogeography of Tapirus terrestris in the Atlantic Forest Biome, Brazil
Kevin Flesher
E-mail: kevinmflesher@yahoo.com.br

Linking Landscape to Molecules: Genetic as a Tool in the Study of Lowland Tapir Populations in Brazil
Alexandra Sanches, Cristiane Garcia Pellizon, Carolina da Silva Carvalho, Tamissa Gabrielle Godoi, Paola Mandetta Tokumoto & Mauro Galetti Rodrigues
E-mail: lelesanches@gmail.com; mgaletti@rc.unesp.br

Biodiversity Dynamics and Land-Use Changes in the Amazon: Multi-Scale Interactions between Ecological Systems and Resource-Use Decisions by Indigenous Peoples
José M. V. Fragoso
E-mail: fragoso@stanford.edu

COLOMBIA

Participative Camera Trapping at La Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta (La Guajira), Macizo Colombiano (Huila), Parque Amacayacu (Amazonas) and Serranía del Darien (Chocó), Colombia
Jaime Andrés Cabrera
E-mail: jac56@kent.ac.uk; jcabrera@nativa.org
www.nativa.org

ECUADOR

Tayja-Saruta Project: Conservation of Tapirus terrestris in Ecuador
Ute Magiera
E-mail: magiera@zoo-osnabrueck.de

FRENCH GUIANA

Ecology and Population Dynamics of the Lowland Tapir (Tapirus terrestris) in French Guiana
Cécile Richard-Hansen, Mathias Tobler & Fabrice Hibert
E-mail: cecile.richard-hansen@ecofog.gf; matobler@gmx.net

Lowland Tapir Conservation in French Guiana
Benoit de Thoisy & Cécile Richard-Hansen
E-mail: cecile.richard-hansen@ecofog.gf


BAIRD’S TAPIR

COSTA RICA

Demystifying the Cloud Forest: The Baird's Tapir Project of the Northern Talamanca Mountains
Alec Hutchinson
E-mail: alhutchi@gmail.com

GUATEMALA

Baird’s Tapir Habitat Changes in Guatemala and the Mayan Forest
Manolo García, Fernando Castillo & Raquel Leonardo
E-mail: Garcia.manolo@usac.edu.gt; manelgato@gmail.com

Baird’s Tapir: The Guardian of the Mayan Forest
Manolo García, Marcial García, Gaudencio Vitzil & Luis Rodas
E-mail: Garcia.manolo@usac.edu.gt; manelgato@gmail.com

Long-Term Baird’s Tapir Monitoring at Aguadas: The Hearth of the Mayan Forest
Manolo García
E-mail: Garcia.manolo@usac.edu.gt; manelgato@gmail.com

HONDURAS

Fragmentation and Migration in Baird’s Tapir (Tapirus bairdii)
Niall McCann
E-mail: niallmccann@hotmail.com

MEXICO

Anticipated Effects of Climate Change on Endangered Fauna Highly Dependent of Water Resources in the South of the Yucatan Peninsula
Sophie Calmé, Georgina O’Farrill, Rafael Reyna, Anton Selmon & Nuria Torrescano
E-mail: sophie.calme@gmail.com

Consequences of the Anthropogenic Loss of Herbivorous Mammals for the Rain Forest Plant Diversity and Regeneration
Rodolfo Dirzo & Eduardo Mendoza Ramírez
E-mail: rdirzo@stanford.edu

Population Size and Habitat Use of the Endangered Species Tapirus bairdii in the Biosphere Reserve El Triunfo, Chiapas, Mexico
Eduardo Mendoza Ramírez, Miguel Martinez-Ramos & Juan Paulo Carbajal Borges
E-mail: mendoza.mere@gmail.com; jcarbajal@cieco.unam.mx
http://tapirmexico.blogspot.com

NICARAGUA

Baird’s Tapir Project, Nicaragua
Christopher A. Jordan
E-mail: jordan41@msu.edu


MALAY TAPIR

INDONESIA

Monitoring Malay Tapir Population in Fragmented Lowland Forest in a West Sumatran Landscape
Wilson Novarino

E-mail: wilson_n_id@yahoo.com

MALAYSIA

The Malayan Tapir Conservation Project
Carl Traeholt & Bengt Holst
E-mail: ctraeholt@pd.jaring.my
www.malaytapir.org

MYANMAR

A Preliminary Study of Habitat Selection, Abundance, and Threats for Malay Tapirs in the Tenasserim Hills, Southern Myanmar
Antony Lynam & Than Myint
E-mail: tlynam@wcs.org; wcsmm@mptmail.net.mm


MOUNTAIN TAPIR

COLOMBIA

Ecology and Conservation of Mountain Tapirs in the Central Andes of Colombia
Diego J. Lizcano
E-mail: dj.lizcano@gmail.com
www.mountaintapir.org

ECUADOR

Conservation Status of the Mountain Tapir (Tapirus pinchaque) in the Eastern Slopes of the Central Andes in Ecuador (PCTA)
Andrés Tapia
E-mail: sachacristo@gmail.com
www.zanjarajuno.org

Mountain Tapir (Tapirus pinchaque) Conservation Program in the Influence Areas at Cayambe-Coca National Park and Antisana
Ecological Reserve, Ecuador
Mauricio Ortega-Andrade, Armando Castellanos, Patricio Meza, Fabiola Carvajal, Víctor López, Andrés Montalvo & Verónica Díaz
E-mail: especiesenpeligro@ecociencia.org; biomauro@hotmail.com
www.ecociencia.org

Monitoring and Analysis of the Viability of the Mountain Tapir (Tapirus pinchaque) Populations in Three Sites in the Cayambe Coca Ecological Reserve, Eastern Ecuadorian Andes
Carlos Armando Urgilés Verdugo
E-mail: car.urgiles@gmail.com

PERU

Creation of Cerro Negro Mountain Tapir Nature Sanctuary, Peru
Craig C. Downer
E-mail: ccdowner@yahoo.com
www.andeantapirfund.com


THEMATIC PROJECTS

Reproductive Biology of the Tapir
Budhan Pukazhenthi, Janine Brown, Luis Padilla & Oris Sanjur
E-mail: pukazhenthiB@si.edu

 

Download our full List of TSG Endorsed Projects 2011 (PDF 339 Kb).


Do you want your tapr project endorsed by the TSG?
Download our endorsement criteria PDF.
English
Spanish
Portugues

And if you have your tapir project online, send us your link!



Home | Donate and Help Save Tapirs | About Us

© 1980-2011 IUCN/SSC Tapir Specialist Group (TSG)